E9-1-1 Institute



The Congressional E9-1-1 Caucus was formed on February 25, 2003  as a joint initiative of its four co-chairs, Senators Conrad Burns (R-MT) and Hillary Clinton (D-NY) and Reps. John Shimkus (R-IL) and Anna Eshoo (D-CA) to educate lawmakers, constituents and communities about the importance of citizen-activated emergency response systems.

Representatives John Shimkus (R-IL) and Anna Eshoo (D-CA) and Senators Amy Klobuchar  
(D-MN) and Richard Burr (R-NC) continue their strong leadership of the NextGen 9-1-1 Caucus.  On February 16, 2011, the Caucus was registered as a Congressional Member Organization for the 112th Congress and will serve as an informal group of Members dedicated to issues related to NextGen 9-1-1 emergency services and educating other Members of Congress on this subject.

Congressional NG9-1-1 Co-Chairs

Amy Klobuchar


Anna Eshoo



Richard Burr


John Shimkus



Congressional NextGen 9-1-1 Caucus


Congressional NG9-1-1 Members


Rep. Joe Baca (D-CA)
Rep. Rick Berg (R-ND)
Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-TN)
Rep. Jo Bonner (R-AL)
Rep. Dan Boren (D-OK)
Rep. Madeleine Bordallo (D-GU)
Rep. Vern Buchanan (R-FL)
Rep. Michael Burgess (R-TX)
Rep. Howard Coble (R-NC)
Rep. Jim Cooper (D-TN)
Rep. Jerry Costello (D-IL)
Rep. Joe Courtney (D-CT)
Rep. Peter DeFazio (D-OR)
Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D-TX)
Rep. John J. Duncan, Jr. (R-TN)
Rep. Eliot Engel (D-NY)
Rep. Anna Eshoo (D-CA)
Rep. Cory Gardner (R-CO)
Rep. Kay Granger (R-TX)
Rep. Gene Green (D-TX)
Rep. Raul M. Grijalva (D-AZ)
Rep. Alcee Hastings (D-FL)
Rep. Wally Herger (R-CA)
Rep. Mazie K. Hirono (D-HI)
Rep. Mike Honda (D-CA)
Rep. Darrell Issa (R-CA)
Rep. Jesse Jackson, Jr. (D-IL)
Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX)
Rep. Timothy V. Johnson (R-IL)
Rep. Walter Jones (R-NC)
Rep. Ron Kind (D-WI)
Rep. Adam Kinzinger (R-IL)
Rep. Rick Larsen (D-WA)
Rep. John B. Larson (D-CT)
Rep. Steven LaTourette (R-OH)
Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)
Rep. Don Manzullo (R-IL)
Rep. Carolyn McCarthy (D-NY)
Rep. James McGovern (D-MA)
Rep. Patrick HcHenry (R-NC)
Rep. Mike McIntyre (D-NC)
Rep. Brad Miller (D-NC)
Rep. George Miller (D-CA)
Rep. Jeff Miller (R-FL)
Rep. Sue Myrick (R-NC)
Rep. Ed Perlmutter (D-CO)
Rep. David Price (D-NC)
Rep. Nick Rahall (D-WV)
Rep. Mike Rogers (R-AL)
Rep. Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD)
Rep. Loretta Sanchez (D-CA)
Rep. Bobby Schilling (R-IL)
Rep. John Shimkus (R-IL)
Rep. Aaron Schock (R-IL)
Rep. Heath Shuler (D-NC)
Rep. Louise Slaughter (D-NY)
Rep. Lee Terry (R-NE)
Rep. Mike Thompson (D-CA)
Rep. Patrick J.Tiberi (R-OH)
Rep. Henry Waxman (D-CA)
Rep. Joe Wilson (R-SC)


Sen. Daniel Akaka (D-HI)
Sen. Barbara Boxer (D-CA)
Sen. Richard Burr (R-NC)
Sen. Kent Conrad (D-ND)
Sen. Richard Durbin (D-IL)
Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)
Sen. Kay Hagan (D-NC)
Sen. John Hoeven (R-ND)
Sen. Daniel Inouye (D-HI)
Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)
Sen. Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ)
Sen. Patty Murray (D-WA)
Sen. Olympia Snowe (R-ME)



If you need information on how to request your
Senator and/or Representative to join the
NG9-1-1 Caucus please contact us at:


NG9-1-1 Caucus Registrations/Request Form



Goals of the
NextGen 9-1-1 Caucus

The Congressional NextGen 9-1-1 Caucus seeks to improve 9-1-1 and emergency response systems in the United States and promote governmental policies that will ensure:

  • Continued reliability of 9-1-1 as the universal emergency number over legacy and future communications services and applications; 
  • A coordinated transition to broadband-enabled, IP-based Next Generation 9-1-1 and emergency communications systems;
  • 9-1-1 is recognized as an integral component of our nation’s homeland security;
  • Aggressive and effective oversight of federal agencies responsible for 9-1-1 and emergency communications;  

         Effective education of the public on the appropriate use of 9-1-1;

         Proper funding for 9-1-1 systems, networks, operations, and training;

         Effective and direct access to emergency response systems for persons with disabilities; and

  • Improved coordination
    and information sharing across jurisdictional boundaries and among emergency response personnel and organizations at all levels of government.

For more information, please contact the NG9-1-1nstitute at 202-292-4603 or contactus@e911institute.org.



Copyright 2003 E9-1-1 Institute - All rights reserved
Privacy Policy